© DR

Les Urbaines

Festival - Free admission

  • A Non-French-speaking friendly

A snapshot of new contemporary art aesthetics, a platform for risk-taking without the limits of genre, theme or artistic current : Les Urbaines is back. This year, the festival — a laboratory for emerging artists and a hotbed of entirely free discoveries — will be showcasing more than forty projects in a renewed configuration (Arsenic, Théâtre Sévelin 36, Espace Arlaud, Bourg, Romandie as well as new venues).

 

SATURDAY

 

MAXIME GORBATCHEV & ARNAUD ANGIBEAUD & THOMAS MARDELL (CH/FR)

PianoCamion

Sound Installation 17:00-00:00

Having dismembered a piano, the artists screwed its sound board to the back of a truck and burned the remaining parts of the instrument. The PianoCamion is a strange chimera of modern times, marrying the sounds of the piano — activated by objects hung on the sides of the vehicle—to the move­ments incurred by traffic. This 15­-minute ride will stir up your perceptions and stretch your imagination, inducing a state of hypersensitivity which is rarely experienced in everyday life.

 

LES PANTHÈRES NÉBULEUSES (FR) 
Play 20:00-21:00
In DODOLLYWOOD, Les Panthères Nébuleuses invite the au­dience to meet a football team unlike any other: lethargic and without any ambition. On the set, the players laze about, recount their dreams and smoke shisha. The only obstacle for these chillaxing pros comes in the shape of a corporate coach who explains how to become a millionaire. The only way to face up to the situation is to organize a ritual that will undo the capitalist spell… This humorous performance tackles our liberal economic system’s obsession with cost­ effectiveness.

 

ALEX BACZYNSKI-JENKINS (UK/PL) 

Us Swerve 

Durational Performance 21:00-24:00

In a minimalist environment, Alex Baczynski­-Jenkins stages a constellation of performers on rollerblades who loop for hours, reciting and re­formulating fragments of poetry relat­ing to desire. The different extracts are picked up polyphon­ically by the skaters, thus circulating in the space, tirelessly modified by the direction of the performers’ movements and affects. A gentle current that establishes a languorous dia­logue between attraction and repetition.

 

–NILBOG (CH) 

Gsilenter than 

Concert 20:15-21:00

–Nilbog (“Goblin” spelled backwards) refers to the recent al­liance between L.A.B. and Mr.Peña, two eminent members of ACC­ESS, the rave collective from Basel. Although their re­spective solo projects tend to veer towards hardstyle, jungle and supercharged techno, the result of their partnership is more experimental: a surprising marriage between post­gab­ber and noise music, full of mutations and unpredictability.

 

JEREMY NEDD (CH/US) 

Communal Solo 

Performance 20:15-21:15

Inspired by experiences of mourning, celebration and pro­test—three situations that give rise to gatherings—the Swiss-­American performer and choreographer Jeremy Nedd invites us to a collective experience with an oxymoronic name: Communal Solo. Invoking a backdrop of images that refer to the recurrent violence against the African­-American community in the United States, Nedd counterbalances the seriousness of the theme with his warm and relaxed pres­ence, accompanied by a festive atmosphere and a toe­-tap­ping playlist. An open and constructive act which is essen­tial in this day and age.

 

JOHANNES DULLIN (CH/D)

The best piece of this season 

Play 20:15-21:15

House lights, no set, one person on stage (at once author, ac­ tor and himself): Johannes Dullin has given himself one night to write the best piece of the season. In a gleeful back and forth between the moment of composition and the “here and now” of the performance, Dullin leads us through both sides of the theatrical creative process with a forceful grip. A theatrical success — necessarily unparalleled — that takes us to the outer reaches of the cosmos.

 

MARC PHILIPP GABRIEL & MAIJA KARHUNEN (DE/FI) 

AJIMA

Performance 21:30-22:45

Marc Philipp Gabriel and Maija Karhunen studied choreogra­phy together in Berlin. The character they have created for AJIMA — a performance that spans a wellness tutorial, a cos­mic freakshow and the art of divination — plays on our projec­tions based on physical appearance and a supposed identi­ty. A fascinating and unsettling collective ritual.

 

POUSSY DRAAMA (FR)

Conversation en cercle autour du self­help avec Poussy DRAAMA

Conférence-performance 21:30-22:45

In 2015, the artist­-performer Poussy DRAAMA created the colourful character of DocteurE Duchesne: an itinerant alter­ gynecologist who officiates in an old fire truck, the “Trans­ Utérus Cruising Agency”. Realising the extent of questions relating to gynecology and the sexual health of women, trans and non­-binary individuals, she turned towards an artistic practice that is now closer to self­help than performance. Whether it’s a lecture or a workshop, this is an open occasion for all subjectivities to learn and share, without judgment or discrimination.

 

GEO WYETH (US) 

Juice CrosxxxSing

Performance 00:00-01:00

In Juice CrosxxxSing, the multidisciplinary artist Geo Wyeth, whose work spans mediums including music, performance, installation and video, embodies two enigmatic characters: the Lost Tourist and the Crossing Guard who move across hurdles, merging in bass. Children’s voices permeate a black box. Dutch weather requires raingear. A target becomes a stop sign.

  • A Non-French-speaking friendly

© DR

Les Urbaines

Festival - Entrée libre

  • A Non-French-speaking friendly

Sous le signe de la prise de risques et du décloisonnement, une quarantaine de performances, spectacles, œuvres plastiques, concerts, dj sets et workshops investissent pendant trois jours les différents lieux du festival à Lausanne et Renens. Une exploration des nouvelles esthétiques, entièrement gratuite pour le public, incarnant une culture contemporaine engagée, ouverte et festive. L’exposition à l’Espace Arlaud se prolonge jusqu’au 7 janvier 2018. 

 

SAMEDI

 

MAXIME GORBATCHEVSKY & ARNAUD ANGIBEAUD & THOMAS MARDELL (CH/FR)

PianoCamion

Installation sonore 17:00-00:00

Après avoir démembré un piano, les artistes ont vissé sa table d’harmonie à l’arrière d’un camion et mis le feu aux morceaux restants de l’instrument. Étrange chimère des temps modernes, le PianoCamion associe les sonorités du piano — activées par des objets suspendus aux parois du véhicule — aux mouvements induits par la circulation. Il vous invite à une balade de 15 minutes qui agite les perceptions et déploie l’imagination, provoquant une hyper sensibilité rarement éprouvée au quotidien.

 

LES PANTHÈRES NÉBULEUSES (FR) 
Pièce 19:00-20:00

Avec DODOLLYWOOD, Les Panthères Nébuleuses invitent à la rencontre d’une équipe de foot pas comme les autres: léthargique et sans ambition. Sur le plateau, on paresse, on raconte ses rêves, on fume la chicha. Seul problème pour ces pros du chill: une coach en entreprise qui explique com­ment devenir milliardaire. Pour y faire face, un rite de désen­sorcellement du capitalisme s’organise… Une drôle de per­formance qui tacle l’impératif de rentabilité de notre système économique libéral.

 

ALEX BACZYNSKI-JENKINS (UK/PL) 

Us Swerve 

Performance longue durée 20:00-23:00

Dans un environnement minimal, Alex Baczynski­-Jenkins met en scène une constellation de performeurs en rollers qui tournoient pendant des heures en récitant et en recompo­sant des extraits de poésie ayant trait au désir. Les différents écrits repris de façon polyphonique par les patineurs cir­culent dans l’espace et sont inlassablement modifiés par la direction de leurs mouvements et leurs affects. Une mobilité douce qui instaure un dialogue langoureux entre attirance et répétition.

 

–NILBOG (CH) 

Gsilenter than 

Concert 20:15-21:00

–Nilbog (Goblin à l’envers) est l’alliance récente de L.A.B. et de Mr.Peña, deux membres éminents du collectif de raveurs bâlois ACC­ESS. Si, en solo, leurs productions lorgnent du côté du hardstyle, de la jungle ou de la techno survitaminée, en duo, le résultat est plus expérimental: un mariage surpre­nant entre post­gabber et musique noise, tout en mutations et en imprévisibilité.

 

JEREMY NEDD (CH/US) 

Communal Solo 

Performance 20:15-21:15

Parti de l’expérience du deuil, de la célébration et de la pro­testation — trois situations donnant naissance au rassem­blement —, le chorégraphe performeur américano­helvétique Jeremy Nedd invite à une expérience collective avec son projet au nom oxymorique Communal Solo. Convoquant en toile de fond des images qui renvoient aux violences récur­rentes envers la communauté afro-­américaine aux Etats­-Unis, Nedd contrebalance la gravité de la thématique avec sa présence aussi chaleureuse que décontractée, accom­pagnée d’une ambiance festive et d’une playlist efficace. Un acte ouvert et constructif, aujourd’hui nécessaire.

 

JOHANNES DULLIN (CH/D)

The best piece of this season 

Pièce 20:15-21:15

Lumière de service, zéro décor, un individu sur scène (à la fois auteur, acteur et lui­-même): Johannes Dullin se donne une nuit pour écrire la meilleure pièce de la saison. Dans un va­-et­-vient jubilatoire entre le moment de l’écriture et le « ici et maintenant » de la performance, Dullin nous fait voyager des deux cotés de la création théâtrale avec force persuasion. Un succès forcément inégalé qui nous mène aux confins du cosmos.

 

MARC PHILIPP GABRIEL & MAIJA KARHUNEN (DE/FI) 

AJIMA

Performance 21:30-22:45

Marc Philipp Gabriel et Maija Karhunen ont étudié ensemble la chorégraphie à Berlin. Le personnage qu’ils créent dans AJIMA, performance où se côtoient tutoriel bien-être, freak­-show cosmique et art divinatoire, se joue de nos projections fondées sur l’apparence physique et une identité supposée. Un rituel collectif déconcertant et fascinant.

 

POUSSY DRAAMA (FR)

Conversation en cercle autour du self­-help avec Poussy DRAAMA

Conférence-performance 21:30-22:45

Poussy DRAAMA, artiste performeuse, crée en 2015 le per­sonnage truculent du DocteurE Duchesne, une alter­gynéco­logue itinérante qui officie dans un ancien camion de pom­pier, le « TransUtérus Cruising Agency ». Réalisant l’étendue des questions relatives à la gynécologie et à la santé sexuelle des femmes, ainsi que des personnes trans et non binaires, elle se tourne vers une pratique artistique désormais plus proche du self­-help que de la performance. En version confé­rence ou workshop, une occasion ouverte à toutes les sub­jectivités d’apprendre et partager, sans jugement ni discri­mination.

 

GEO WYETH (US) 

Juice CrosxxxSing

Performance 23:00-00:00

Dans Juice CrosxxxSing, l’artiste multidisciplinaire Geo Wyeth, dont le travail comprend la musique, la performance, l’installation et la vidéo, incarne deux personnages énigma­tiques: le « Lost Tourist » et le « Crossing Guard » qui franchissent les obstacles, fusionnant dans les basses. Des voix d’enfants se répandent dans une black box. La météo hollan­daise exige des vêtements de pluie. Une cible devient un panneau stop.

  • A Non-French-speaking friendly