© Dorothea Tuch
© Martha Glenn
© Martha Glenn

Ligia Lewis (DOM/US/DE)

minor matter

  • 60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Hearing-impaired spectators welcome
  • G Hearing loops

Concept et chorégraphie: Ligia Lewis. Danseurs: Jonathan Gonzalez, Ligia Lewis, Tiran Willemse (Hector Thami Manekehla à l’origine). Dramaturgie musicale: Michel Libera, Ligia Lewis. Design sonore: Jassem Hindi. Technicien son: Neda Sanai. Styling: Alona Rodeh. Lumières: Andreas Harder. Dramaturgie: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Assistance: Martha Glenn. Tournée et distribution: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Nicole Schuchardt. Production: Ligia Lewis. Coproduction: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Financement: Senate Department for Culture and Europe de Berlin, Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V. Soutiens additionnels: résidences à FD-13, PACT Zollverein, collective address.

Site web de la compagnie

Throughout a hyper-generous choreography, three dancers push against the limits of the stage to the point of exhaustion. Constructed on the logic of interdependence, lights, sound, images, architecture and dancers mingle together, giving life to a poetic and vibrant space. The dancer and choreographer Ligia Lewis continues her research into the social conditions that affect the body. With minor matter, the second part of a choreographic triptych begun in 2015, she serves up a powerful manifest.
 

 
Ligia Lewis (1983) is a dancer and choreographer. She creates affective choreographies while interrogating the metaphors and social inscriptions of the body. With her first two full-length stage works, the solo Sorrow Swag (2015) and the trio minor matter (2016), she aroused great attention on an international level. Her work has been shown at various venues and festivals, such as Abrons Art Center/American Realness (New York City), Flax/Fahrenheit (Los Angeles), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), or TATE Modern (London). Lewis was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe for her work Sorrow Swag. And she recently received the Bessie Award for Outstanding Production 2017 for minor matter. She is based in Berlin and New York.

  • 60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Hearing-impaired spectators welcome
  • G Hearing loops

© Dorothea Tuch
© Martha Glenn
© Martha Glenn

Ligia Lewis (DOM/US/DE)

minor matter

  • 60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Recommandé aux malentendant·e·s
  • G Boucle magnétique

Concept et chorégraphie: Ligia Lewis. Danseurs: Jonathan Gonzalez, Ligia Lewis, Hector Thami Manekehla, remplaçants: Tiran Willemse, Corey Scott-Gilbert. Dramaturgie musicale: Michel Libera, Ligia Lewis. Design sonore: Jassem Hindi. Technicien son: Neda Sanai. Styling: Alona Rodeh. Lumières: Andreas Harder. Dramaturgie: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Assistance: Martha Glenn. Tournée et distribution: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Nicole Schuchardt. Production: Ligia Lewis. Coproduction: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Financement: Senate Department for Culture and Europe de Berlin, Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V. Soutiens additionnels: résidences à FD-13, PACT Zollverein, collective address.

Site web de la compagnie

Tout au long d’une chorégraphie hypergénéreuse, trois danseurs se confrontent aux limites scéniques jusqu’à l’épuisement. Selon une logique de l’interdépendance, lumière, son, image, architecture et danseurs s’entremêlent, donnant vie à un espace poétique et vibrant. La danseuse et chorégraphe Ligia Lewis poursuit sa recherche sur les conditions sociales qui affectent le corps et offre avec minor matter – deuxième volet d’un triptyque chorégraphique commencé en 2015 – un manifeste puissant.
 

 
Danseuse et chorégraphe, Ligia Lewis (1983) interroge les métaphores et les inscriptions sociales du corps à travers des œuvres affectives et provocantes. Avec ses deux premières pièces chorégraphiques, le solo Sorrow Swag (2015) et le trio minor matter (2016), Ligia Lewis se fait reconnaître sur le plan international. Présentées dans divers endroits et festivals – tels que Abrons Art Center/American Realness à New York, Flax/Fahrenheit à Los Angeles, Palais de Tokyo à Paris ou encore TATE Modern à Londres –, les chorégraphies de Ligia Lewis ont reçu le Prix Jardin d’Europe et le prix Bessie Award for Outstanding Production 2017. Elle vit et travaille entre Berlin et New York.

  • 60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Recommandé aux malentendant·e·s
  • G Boucle magnétique