©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus

Alpina Huus

Theodora or The Progress

Film

  • ~25'
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • E Partially-sighted spectators welcome
  • F Hearing-impaired spectators welcome
  • G Hearing loops
  • C Young audience welcome (8+)
  • B Accessible to persons with reduced mobility

Avec: Hugo Canoilas (PT), Cee Füllemann (CH/BE), Tarren Johnson (US/DE), Elise Lammer (CH), Alizee Lennox (FR/DE), Sarah Margnetti (CH/BE), Julie Monot (CH), Lucien Monot (CH), Jessy Razafimandimby (CH), Mia Sanchez (CH), Niels Trannois (FR/CH). Auteure: Elise Lammer. Direction du film: Elise Lammer, Julie Monot, Lucien Monot. Caméra, montage: Lucien Monot. Scénographie: Christopher Füllemann, Julie Monot, Sarah Margnetti, Niels Trannois. Communication, production: Elias Carella. Production: Alpina Huus. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne. Soutiens: Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la culture, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fondation Nestlé Pour l’Art, Loterie Romande, Canton de Vaud.

Empress Theodora (500 AD) is possibly the first feminist figure documented by history. Theodora or the Progress is an operetta bringing together visual artists, musicians, choreographers, dancers and performers around the question of emancipation. It tells the story of a dog narrator, who used to be human. Becoming animal made them renounce many things, such as speech and some privileges. But this silent metamorphosis has above all allowed them to approach the world through reworked power relationships. Theodora or The Progress is a slow, collective takeover that speaks of love, transformation and transcendence.

Launched in March 2015 at the Schinkel Pavilion in Berlin, Alpina Huus is a practice-oriented research platform dedicated to the study of the relationship between domestic and performance spaces. Through the prism of community practices, Alpina Huus offers an understanding of the domestic environment as a stage for conversations. In an audience that never knows what is and what is not staged, the difference between a performance and the typical course of an artistic meeting is blurred, pushing the boundaries of the private and public spheres and sometimes making them overlap. As a travelling, non-profit platform, Alpina Huus has staged numerous performances, conferences and exhibitions in partner institutions throughout Europe and, since 2017, on a regular basis at the Arsenic.

Vernissage
WED 06 OCT from 19:00

©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus
©Alpina Huus

Alpina Huus

Theodora or The Progress

Film

  • ~25'
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • E Recommandé aux malvoyant·e·x·s
  • F Recommandé aux malentendant·e·x·s
  • G Boucle magnétique
  • C Jeune public bienvenu (dès 8 ans)
  • B Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite

Avec: Hugo Canoilas (PT), Cee Füllemann (CH/BE), Tarren Johnson (US/DE), Elise Lammer (CH), Alizee Lennox (FR/DE), Sarah Margnetti (CH/BE), Julie Monot (CH), Lucien Monot (CH), Jessy Razafimandimby (CH), Mia Sanchez (CH), Niels Trannois (FR/CH). Auteure: Elise Lammer. Direction du film: Elise Lammer, Julie Monot, Lucien Monot. Caméra, montage: Lucien Monot. Scénographie: Christopher Füllemann, Julie Monot, Sarah Margnetti, Niels Trannois. Communication, production: Elias Carella. Production: Alpina Huus. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne. Soutiens: Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la culture, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fondation Nestlé Pour l’Art, Loterie Romande, Canton de Vaud.

L’impératrice Théodora (500 apr. J.-C.) est possiblement la première figure féministe documentée par l’histoire. Theodora or The Progress est une opérette rassemblant des plasticien·ne·x·s, musicien·ne·x·s, chorégraphe·x·s, danseur·euse·x·s et performeur·euse·x·s autour de la question de l’émancipation. Le film raconte l’histoire d’un·e·x narrateur·rice·x chien·ne·x, qui était préalablement humain·ne·x. Son devenir animal l’a contraint·e·x à renoncer à beaucoup de choses, notamment à la parole ou encore à certains de ses privilèges. Une métamorphose silencieuse qui lui a surtout permis d’aborder le monde au travers de rapports de pouvoir remaniés. Theodora or The Progress est une prise de pouvoir, lente, collective, qui parle d’amour, de transformation et de transcendance.

Lancé en mars 2015 au Pavillon Schinkel à Berlin, Alpina Huus est une plateforme de recherche axée sur la pratique et consacrée à l’étude de la relation entre performance et espace domestique. Sous le prisme des pratiques communautaires, Alpina Huus propose une compréhension de l’environnement domestique en tant que scène où des conversations ont lieu. Au sein d’un public qui ne sait jamais ce qui relève de la mise en scène ou non, la différence entre un spectacle et le déroulement typique d’une réunion artistique est floue, repoussant les limites des sphères privée et publique et les faisant parfois se chevaucher. En tant que plateforme itinérante et à but non lucratif, Alpina Huus est l’auteur de nombreux spectacles, conférences et expositions dans des institutions partenaires dans toute l’Europe et, depuis 2017, de manière régulière à l’Arsenic.

Vernissage
MER 06 OCT dès 19:00