©Gimel
©Roy Siegle
©Roy Siegle
©Tal Gafny

Ana Wild (IL)

Worlds, a Canaan-Futuristic Song Cycle

Performance

  • 60’
  • E Partially-sighted spectators welcome

Création et interprétation: Ana Wild. En dialogue avec Talia de Vries. Création musicale et Kanun: Yael Lavie. Espace: Tal Gafny. Costumes: Mai Aylon. Dramaturgie: Marius Schaffter. Production: Hazira – Performance Art Arena, Jérusalem. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne, Concours PREMIO.

Site de l'artiste

A spoken word sci-fi, a cycle of slam songs; Worlds, a Canaan-Futuristic Song Cycle is an investigation into our understanding of the past and how it shapes contemporary identities. Canaan-Futurism – derived from Afrofuturism and Canaanism, a Palestinian ideological movement of the 1930s en Palestine – is a posture imagined by the artist Ana Wild; a means of observation and engagement that seeks to subvert the perceived linearity of a national identity, its past, its present and its future. With her new creation, the artist – a finalist of PREMIO 2019 – tenders a powerful piece, imagining a protean future that rejects any form of confinement.

Ana Wild is an artist and performer, born in Tel Aviv, IL. She holds a Master’s degree from DasArts (Amsterdam) and the Visual Theatre School in Jerusalem. She is an Associate Artist of Hazira, Performance Art Arena (Jerusalem). In 2018-2019 she was resident at the Akademie Schloss Solitude (Stuttgart). Ana Wild works with the musicality of language and discourse in the form of performances and installations. Her practice focuses on structuring of knowledge and processes of understanding. In her research and creative process, she defines “roles”, images that help her positioning herself in relation to knowledge. These roles include: the Young Girl, a contemporary mythological figure, representing a form of resistance against authority, power, and the past. The Young Girl is an outsider and feminist by default, a subversion of perceived fragility. Or: the Punk-gracious, marginal and anti-establishment, noisy and fun-loving, yet graceful, precise and articulate. It is inspired by punk heroes like Patty Smith and Cosey Funni Tutti. In 2019, her creation Worlds, a Canaan- Futuristic Song Cycle is a PREMIO finalist.

  • 60’
  • E Partially-sighted spectators welcome

©Gimel
©Roy Siegle
©Roy Siegle
©Tal Gafny

Ana Wild (IL)

Worlds, a Canaan-Futuristic Song Cycle

Performance

  • 60’
  • E Recommandé aux malvoyant·e·x·s

Création et interprétation: Ana Wild. En dialogue avec Talia de Vries. Création musicale et Kanun: Yael Lavie. Espace: Tal Gafny. Costumes: Mai Aylon. Dramaturgie: Marius Schaffter. Production: Hazira – Performance Art Arena, Jérusalem. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne, Concours PREMIO.

Site de l'artiste

Un spoken word sci-fi, un cycle de chansons slamées; Worlds, a Canaan-Futuristic Song Cycle est une investigation dans notre compréhension du passé et la manière dont il modèle les identités contemporaines. Le Canaan-Futurism – dérivé de l’afrofuturisme et du canaanisme, mouvement idéologique palestinien des années 1930 en Palestine – est une posture imaginée par l’artiste Ana Wild; un moyen d’observation et d’engagement qui s’emploie à subvertir la linéarité perçue d’une identité nationale, de son passé, son présent et son futur. Avec sa nouvelle création, l’artiste, finaliste PREMIO 2019, offre une proposition forte qui imagine un futur protéiforme refusant tout enfermement.

Ana Wild est une artiste et performeuse, née à Tel Aviv. Diplômée d’un Master à DasArts (Amsterdam) et de l’école de Théâtre Visuel de Jérusalem, elle est artiste associée de Hazira, Performance Art Arena (Jérusalem). En 2018-2019, elle a été résidente à l’Akademie Schloss Solitude (Stuttgart). Ana Wild travaille avec la musicalité de la langue et du discours, sous la forme de performances et d’installations. Sa pratique se concentre sur les structurations du savoir et les processus de compréhension. Dans sa recherche et son processus de création, elle définit des «rôles», autant d’images qui l’aident à se positionner en relation au savoir. Ces rôles sont notamment: la Jeune-fille, une figure mythologique contemporaine, représentant une forme de résistance contre l’autorité, le pouvoir, et le passé. La Jeune-fille est une outsider et féministe par défaut, une subversion de la fragilité perçue. Ou encore: la Punk-gracieuse, marginale et anti-établissement, bruyante et aimant s’amuser, tout en étant gracieuse, précise et articulée. Elle est inspirée par des héros punks comme Patty Smith et Cosey Funni Tutti. En 2019, sa création Worlds, a Canaan- Futuristic Song Cycle est finaliste PREMIO.

 

  • 60’
  • E Recommandé aux malvoyant·e·x·s