©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson

Nicole Seiler (CH)

The rest is silence

Dance

  • ~60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Hearing-impaired spectators welcome
  • G Hearing loops
  • D Nursery: Sun 19 January

Conception, chorégraphie: Nicole Seiler. Danse, chorégraphie: Marius Barthaux, Karine Dahouindji, Anne Delahaye, Dominique Godderis-Chouzenoux, Christophe Jaquet, Gilles Viandier, Aure Wachter. Musique: Stéphane Vecchione. Scénographie: Vincent Deblue. Travail de voix: An Chen. Lumières: Antoine Friderici. Costumes: Cécile Delanoë. Pyrotechnique: Joran Hegi. Musicologues: Pierre-Do Bourgknecht, Dieter Ringli. Administration: Laurence Rochat. Diffusion: Michaël Monney. Production: Cie Nicole Seiler. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne. Soutiens: Ville de Lausanne, État de Vaud, Loterie Romande, SSA – Société Suisse des Auteurs, Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, Fondation Thomas Stanley Johnson.

Site de l'artiste

Making up a community with an imaginary folklore, seven dancers form a choral group and explore the limits of co-existence through song. How does a group evolving in unison reach a point of separation? What is the place of individuality within a society? How does a song move from communion to exclusion? Where is the line between joyful explosions and warlike detonations? Nicole Seiler, an internationally renowned Swiss choreographer, refines her work around the relationship between body and sound by experimenting with the physicality of the latter: what the body alone can produce, in its interiority and exteriority.

Born in 1970 in Zurich, Nicole Seiler created her company in 2002. Her artistic approach is largely focused on the relationship between image and video. Her research into video and choreography has led to the creation of innovative works, dance and multimedia, videos, choreographic installations, performances and site-specific works that aim to keep the audience active in their interpretation of the work. Since 2010 her research focuses mainly on the relationship between image and sound and led her to explore the description of movement, from both a historical and personal point of view, but also more generally to question how image and sound connect in our memories.

  • ~60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Hearing-impaired spectators welcome
  • G Hearing loops
  • D Nursery: Sun 19 January

©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson
©Julien Masson

Nicole Seiler (CH)

The rest is silence

Danse

  • ~60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Recommandé aux malentendant·e·s
  • G Boucle magnétique
  • D 2020-01-19 17:30

Conception, chorégraphie: Nicole Seiler. Danse, chorégraphie: Marius Barthaux, Karine Dahouindji, Anne Delahaye, Dominique Godderis-Chouzenoux, Christophe Jaquet, Gilles Viandier, Aure Wachter. Musique: Stéphane Vecchione. Scénographie: Vincent Deblue. Travail de voix: An Chen. Lumières: Antoine Friderici. Costumes: Cécile Delanoë. Pyrotechnique: Joran Hegi. Musicologues: Pierre-Do Bourgknecht, Dieter Ringli. Administration: Laurence Rochat. Diffusion: Michaël Monney. Production: Cie Nicole Seiler. Coproduction: Arsenic – Centre d’art scénique contemporain, Lausanne. Soutiens: Ville de Lausanne, État de Vaud, Loterie Romande, SSA – Société Suisse des Auteurs, Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, Fondation Thomas Stanley Johnson.

Site de l'artiste

Constituant une communauté au folklore imaginaire, sept danseuses et danseurs forment un groupe choral et explorent les limites de l’être-ensemble par le biais du chant. Comment un groupe évoluant à l’unisson atteint-il le point de séparation; quelle est la place de l’individualité au sein d’une société? Comment un chant passe-t-il de la communion à l’exclusion? Où se situe la limite entre l’explosion joyeuse et la détonation guerrière? Nicole Seiler, chorégraphe suisse de renommée internationale, affine son travail autour des relations entre le corps et le son en expérimentant la physicalité de ce dernier: ce que peut produire le corps et lui seul, dans son intériorité et son extériorité.

Née en 1970 à Zurich, Nicole Seiler crée sa compagnie en 2002. Dans sa démarche artistique, l’image et la vidéo ont une grande importance formelle. Sa recherche donne naissance à des spectacles novateurs et singuliers: de danse multimédia, des vidéos et des installations chorégraphiques qui gardent le spectateur actif dans l’interprétation. Ces dernières années sa réflexion sur la relation entre l’image et le son se penche plus particulièrement sur la description du mouvement, l’exploration du langage dansé en relation avec son pendant articulé et la mémoire du mouvement d’un point de vue historique ou personnel. Depuis 2004, la compagnie rencontre une diffusion internationale. En 2009 Nicole Seiler reçoit le prix culturel pour la danse de la Fondation Vaudoise pour la Culture.

  • ~60’
  • A Non-French-speaking friendly
  • F Recommandé aux malentendant·e·s
  • G Boucle magnétique
  • D 2020-01-19 17:30